Bruce Springsteen, Pete Seeger Elected to Academy of Arts and Scienes -Herbie Hancock, Robert De Niro also among 198 new members

26 Απριλίου 2013

O Bruce Springsteen μουσικός ,τραγουδοποιός και ο Pete Seeger της αμερικανικής pop-folk λαϊκής μουσικής, είναι τα νέα μέλη ανάμεσα στα 198 όπως ο Herbie Hancock, Robert De Niro  στην  American Academy of Arts & Sciences ‘το έτος 2013.

By Jon Blistein

Bruce Springsteen and Pete Seeger are among 198 new members elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences’ class of 2013. Each year the Academy inducts the most accomplished individuals from a wide range of fields, including mathematics, physics, biology, medicine, philanthropy, the humanities, business, government, public affairs and the arts.

Bruce Springsteen, Dave Matthews, Eddie Vedder to Help Celebrate Pete Seeger’s 90th

Springsteen and Seeger were two of the nine individuals selected under the “Performing Arts – Criticism and Practice” umbrella, a group that also included Herbie Hancock, Robert De Niro and Sally Field. This year’s class will be inducted at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts on October 12th.

Springsteen, who is currently in the middle of the European leg of his Wrecking Ball tour, also appeared on Seeger’s latest effort, A More Perfect Union, released last fall. The two have shared the stage in the past with a rendition of Woody Guthrie’s “This Land Is Your Land” before President Barack Obama’s 2009 inauguration, and Springsteen in 2006 released a tribute to the folk legend, We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions.